Thermographic flow visualization with defined angular movement of the camera system for optimal image distribution

Thermographic images can be used to visualize the near-surface boundary layer flow of rotor blades of wind turbines during operation (Figure 1). In order to achieve a high geometric resolution for the images from distances of up to 300 m, the surface of the rotor blade is captured section by section with a thermographic camera using a telephoto lens. The resulting individual images are then combined to create an overall image for evaluation of the aerodynamic conditions.

Until now, the offset between the individual thermographic images was relatively undefined and carried out manually by swivelling the tripod head. This results in an irregular step size and overlapping of the individual images. This procedure makes the subsequent assembly of the individual images considerably more difficult. In order to allow section-by-section images of the rotor blade surface with a uniform offset, it is necessary to change the pan angle of the camera for the individual images in uniform steps. This makes it considerably easier to assemble the individual shots and allows for repeatable regularity of the individual shots (Fig. 2).

The topic of this thesis aims at the extension of the existing measuring system by a controllable swivel movement during the measurement. For this task, the tripod head has to be extended by an adjustable rotation unit, with which the pan position of the camera can be pre-defined and the current angular position can be returned to the user as feedback. Thus, a pan movement with defined angle steps between the individual shots is realized. For the subsequent assembly of the individual images, the acquired information about the angular positions of the camera can be linked to the individual images. The task includes design as well as software technical parts and offers the possibility to participate in current research contents.

Your profile:

  • Students of the study field Production Engineering, Systems Engineering or Engineering and Manageme
  • interest in camera technology
  • No shyness at programming tasks
  • Ability for autodidactic familiarization with new topics
  • Good technical understanding
  • Ability to work independently and in a team
  • Experience with MATLAB and Python is helpful, but not a basic requirement

Contact Details

Daniel Gleichauf
E-Mail: Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Phone:+49 (0)421 218 646 39

»  Task as PDF

Thermografische Strömungsvisualisierung mit definierter Winkelbewegung des Kamerasystems für optimale Bildaufteilung

Mit thermografischen Aufnahmen kann die oberflächennahe Grenzschichtströmung von Rotorblättern von Windenergieanlagen (WEA) im laufenden Betrieb visualisiert werden (Bild 1). Um für die Aufnahmen aus Distanzen von bis zu 300 m eine hohe geometrische Auflösung zu erzielen, wird die Oberfläche des Rotorblattes abschnittsweise mit einer Thermografiekamera unter der Verwendung eines Teleobjektivs erfasst. Die resultierenden Einzelaufnahmen werden anschließend für eine Auswertung des aerodynamischen Zustandes zu einem Gesamtbild zusammengesetzt.

Der Versatz zwischen den einzelnen Thermografieaufnahmen wird bislang mit einem Schwenk des Stativkopfes relativ undefiniert und manuell vorgenommen. Dies sorgt für eine unregelmäßige Schrittweite und Überlappungen der Einzelaufnahmen. Diese Vorgehensweise erschwert das anschließende Zusammensetzen der Einzelaufnahmen erheblich. Um abschnittsweise Aufnahmen der Rotorblattoberfläche mit gleichmäßigem Versatz zu ermöglichen, ist es erforderlich, den Schwenkwinkel der Kamera für die einzelnen Aufnahmen in gleichmäßigen Schritten zu verändern. Hierdurch wird das Zusammensetzen der Einzelaufnahmen erheblich vereinfacht und eine wiederholbare Regelmäßigkeit der Einzelaufnahmen ermöglicht (Bild 2).

Das Thema dieser Arbeit zielt auf die Erweiterung des bestehenden Messsystems um eine steuerbare Schwenkbewegung während der Messaufnahme ab. Für diese Aufgabe ist der Stativkopf um eine verstellbare Dreheinheit zu erweitern, mit welcher die Schwenkposition der Kamera vordefiniert vollzogen werden kann und die aktuelle Winkelposition als Feedback an den Anwender zurückgegeben werden kann. Somit wird eine Schwenkbewegung mit definierten Winkelschritten zwischen den Einzelaufnahmen realisiert. Für das anschließende Zusammensetzen der Einzelbilder kann die erfasste Information über die Winkelpositionen der Kamera mit den Einzelaufnahmen verknüpft werden. Die Aufgabenstellung beinhaltet sowohl konstruktions- als auch softwaretechnische Teile und bietet die Möglichkeit an aktuellen Forschungsinhalten mitzuwirken.

Ihr Profil:

  • Studierende/r der Produktionstechnik, des Systems Engineering oder des Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens
  • Interesse an Kameratechnik
  • Keine Scheu vor Programmieraufgaben
  • Fähigkeit zur autodidaktischen Einarbeitung in neue Themenfelder
  • Gutes technisches Verständnis
  • Selbstständiges Arbeiten und Teamfähigkeit
  • Erfahrungen mit MATLAB und Python sind hilfreich, aber keine grundlegende Voraussetzung

Kontakt

Daniel Gleichauf
E-Mail: Enable JavaScript to view protected content.
Telefon: +49 (0)421 218 646 39

»  Aufgabenstellung als PDF